The Imperial Japanese Navy began to build Zuoying Military Harbor project in 1904. The project included the command office, residential area, factory, logistics, marine camp, and hospital. The dormitory designated for both married and single naval officers were also built around the Harbor, and it was the very beginning of the Zuoying Naval Dependent Villages.
After WWII, a large amount of military personnel and their dependents from all over mainland China came to Taiwan with the Navy, and with the Government’s arrangement they settled down around the Zuoying Military District; some of them lived in the dormitories deserted by the Japanese, others in the dormitories later built by the Navy or the National Women’s League. In all, more than 20 of these dormitories were built; they grew into a conglomeration and formed a unique landscape in Zuoying. The villages in the entire District comprise, in general: (1) deserted Japanese officers’ dormitories; (2) villages later built by the Navy; and (3) villages later built by the National Women’s League. Some other unofficial villages were built for refugees and American military advisors.
Mingde Village was originally built during Japanese Occupation and featured thick forestation. All of the occupants were top brass and the village was also nicknamed the “Generals’ Village.”